VILFHA Annual Award winners announced!

Posted by Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association on Apr 04 2016 at 09:28PM PDT

VICTORIA, B.C. – At the annual Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey general meeting, on Apr. 4, the major award winners, division winners, playoff winners and all-star teams were announced. Second division midfielder and member of the Blue Jays team, Jaime Sharpe, was named the most outstanding player of the season as well as the Division 2 MVP. From the Flickers team, Wildcats and Junior National team member Sara Goodman was named the top junior player. Executive member and long-time Rebels Patriots player Heather Wheatley was named the Christine Trophy winner for all-around sportsmanship, ability and service to the league, while Cowichan’s Samantha Ross was named the most improved umpire.

The Hibbert Trophy – Most Outstanding Player
Awarded to the most outstanding player in the association. Players in any division are eligible for this award. The Hibbert family, of Victoria, donated this trophy. Nita Hibbert played in the association and was the league’s social director.

2015-16 Winner: Jaime Sharpe, Rebels Blue Jays

The Foley Shield – Most Improved Umpire
Awarded to the most improved umpire in the association.

2015-16 Winner: Samantha Ross, Cowichan

The Christine Trophy – Ability, Sportsmanship and Service
Awarded to a member of the association who best combines sportsmanship, ability and service to VILFHA. Joy Speight donated the trophy, which was named for after her daughter.

2015-16 Winner: Heather Wheatley, Rebels Patriots

The Trelawney Shield – Most Outstanding Under 18 Player
Presented to a young player (18 and under) who best combines ability, leadership and sportsmanship. Ruth Trelawney, who was a member of VILFHA and the Canadian national team that competed in Jamaica in 1968, donated this shield.

2015-16 Winner: Sara Goodman, Cowichan Flickers

These awards are given out annually to the most sportsmanship team in each division (1, 2 and 3). Each team votes for a team in their division they felt was the most sportsmanlike.

2015-16 Division 1 Winner: Patriots
2015-16 Division 2 Winner: Blue Jays
2015-16 Division 3 Winner: Devils

These awards are given out annually to the player that is voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in. This player will impact the league through leadership, ability or service to their team.

2015-16 Division 1 MVP: Sandy Zinkowski, Rebels Patritos
2015-16 Division 2 MVP: Jaime Sharpe, Rebels Blue Jays
2015-16 Division 3 MVP: Teresa Gregus, Cowichan Kestrels

Division 1: Flickers
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Stellers

Division 1: Lynx 1
Division 2: Lynx 2
Division 3: Stellers

These awards are given out annually to the players that are voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in.

Division 1
Sara Goodman, Flickers
Emma Dame, Flickers
Robin Fleming, Flickers
Perri Espeseth, Flickers
Andy Rusthon, Lynx 1
Anna Mollenhauer, Lynx 1
Brittany Smith, Lynx 1
Emily Fisher, Mariners
Chelsea Rabey, Mariners
Heather Wheatley, Patriots
Sandy Zinkowski, Patriots

Division 2
Teresa Wong, Blue Jays
Jaime Sharpe, Blue Jays
Sandy Grimwood, Blue Jays
Jill Roberts, Cardinals
Alyssa Davidson, Cardinals
Stefanie Sajko, Lynx 2
Claire Church, Lynx 2
Natalie Boraston, Lynx 2
Sara Brant, Sailors
Jenna Lucas, Sailors
Kelsey Havens, Sailors

Division 3
Cathy Boraston, Demons
Tess Tremblay, Demons
Zena McCreary, Devils
Teresa Gregus, Kestrels
Hayley Picard, Kestrels
Reilly Sinclair, Lynx 3
Heather Crisp, Pirates
Lisa Grambart, Pirates
Tracey Varian, Pirates
Kyla Bulincx, Ravens
Nicole Little, Ravens
Dana Dickinson, Ravens
Jill Dayton, Stellers
Birkley Anderson, Stellers
Jocelyn Buss, Stellers


There are no comments for this announcement.