Kirkpatrick named Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Scholarship winner

Posted by Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association on Oct 20 2013 at 07:59AM PDT in Season 2013-14

VICTORIA – The annual Bridgman Cup girl’s high school tournament was held at the University of Victoria over Thanksgiving weekend, Oct. 11-13. Cowichan High edged South Delta Secondary in overtime shootouts after a scoreless 70 minutes of regular play. Handsworth defeated Crofton in the third-fourth place match up.

Since 2002, it has been tradition at the Bridgman Cup for the annual Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Scholarship to be awarded. This year the Bridgman Cup committee was very pleased to announce Victoria’s Oak Bay High graduate Gillian Kirkpatrick as the 2013 winner. To date, six winners have been from Oak Bay High including the most recent two of Maddie Secco and Kathleen Leahy – current members of Canada’s senior national team.

Kirkpatrick was a model student-athlete throughout her high school career managing her time efficiently and effectively. The midfielder balanced an honour roll standing in a challenging academic program with multiple sports at an elite level as well as numerous leadership and volunteer activities. In recognition of her accomplishments, Kirkpatrick was awarded Oak Bay Municipality’s Young Exceptional Star Award and CTV’s Amazing Kid Award.

Kirkpatrick is a multi-sport athlete, primarily in field hockey, but also competed in cross-country and track and field. At the the highest level, the Oak Bay High grad was a member of regional and provincial hockey teams including earning gold medals at the B.C. Junior and Senior Indoor Championships. In 2012, Kirkpatrick competed for Canada’s under 17 team in a series against the USA under 17 squad. She was also a member of the Inaugural premier team formed on the island – Kirby’s Island Wildcats.

In addition, Kirkpatrick was a member of Oak Bay High’s leadership program and was a dedicated volunteer coach and umpire in Victoria’s junior field hockey league.

Following high school graduation, Kirkpatrick accepted a field hockey scholarship to attend Hofstra University where she has been competing since September 2013.


Stephanie was a graduate of Esquimalt High School where she excelled at Track and Field and Field Hockey.  She went on to complete her teaching degree at the University of Victoria where she was a valuable member of the Vikes Field Hockey Team.  During Stephanie’s teaching career she was the coach of several school teams taking them to the provincial championship level.  Stephanie was an active member in the Victoria Women’s Field Hockey Association right up until she was diagnosed with leukaemia.

As an athlete she excelled in all sports, and could turn her hand to anything.  She was competitive, hardworking and inspirational, showing sportsmanship at all times. 

As a person she was loving, genuine, and generous, beautiful inside and out.  As a mother of three small children she was devoted, as a friend unforgettable.  She died in March 1991 at the age of 39, but her amazing qualities as a person and athlete live on in the memories of her family, friends and students and are valued by the recipients of the Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Scholarship.

Each year the Stephanie Johnston (Doney) Memorial Scholarship is awarded at the Bridgman Cup. Previous winners include:

2013 Gillian Kirkpatrick – Oak Bay High
2012 Maddie  Secco – Oak Bay High
2011 Kathleen Leahy – Oak Bay High
2010 Adrienne Shepherd – Oak Bay High
2010 Julie Williams – Lambrick Park
2009 Lauren Goodmanson – Lambrick Park
2008 Aly MacKay – Lambrick Park
2007 Kate Shepherd – Oak Bay High
2006 Laura Fairbairn – Mount Douglas High
2005 Teagan McInnes – Lambrick Park
2004 Victoria Hughes – Lambrick Park
2003 Emma Carbery – Oak Bay High
2002 Sandy Barreda – Oak Bay High


There are no comments for this announcement.