8 Islanders named to Team Canada

Posted by Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association on Dec 09 2015 at 08:21AM PST in 2017-2018

Vancouver, BC – Canada’s Women’s National Field Hockey Program has named its National Team and development squad rosters for the upcoming 2016 competition period.

In total, 53 athletes have been named to three squads: the Women’s National Team (WNT), Senior Development Squad (SDS), and Junior Development Squad (JDS). Of the 53 athletes eight athletes from Vancouver Island have been selected to one of the squads.

Each of the 12 athletes named to the Women’s National Team competed at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto where the Canadian women won bronze this past summer.

The National Team is led by veterans Thea Culley (Rossland, BC), Kate Gillis (Kingston, ON), Danielle Hennig (Kelowna, BC), and Abigail Raye (Kelowna, BC), who combine for more than 520 senior international matches played for Canada.

From the island, Maddie Secco, a graduate of Oak Bay High School and former Lynx 1 club member, is the only Victoria native on the WNT. Two islanders were named to the SDS including current Victoria Vikes and former Lynx 1 club members Kathleen Leahy and Rosie Beale. Leahy is a graduate of Oak Bay High School, while Beale is a graduate of Claremont Secondary.

The Senior Development Squad includes a group of athletes who have a wealth of experience and also competed at the 2015 Pan Am Games, including Shanlee Johnston (Vancouver, BC), Holly Stewart (North Vancouver, BC), and Amanda Woodcroft (Waterloo, ON).

All senior athletes will centralize and train full-time in Vancouver in the New Year. Joining the full-time National Training Centre for the first time is a group of seven JDS athletes who will centralize with the senior athletes.

Of the JDS there are five island athletes named to the team including Victoria’s Lexi De Armond (Lynx 1 and Mount Douglas Secondary), Lindsay Cole (Lynx 1 and Mount Douglas Secondary), as well as St. Michael’s University School’s Anna Mollenhauer (Lynx 1). Cowichan High School goalkeeper Robin Fleming (Flickers) and defender Sara Goodman (Flickers) were also named to the team, while De Armond is the only Junior squad member named to the centralized JDS squad.

The centralized JDS also comprises of athletes with senior experience, including Priya Randhawa (Surrey, BC) and Lauren Logush (Richmond Hill, ON).

In total, 33 athletes from across the country are named to the Junior Development Squad.

2016 Women’s National Team
Name Position Hometown Caps

Abigail Raye Defender Kelowna, BC 139
Brienne Stairs Midfielder Kitchener, ON 84
Danielle Hennig Defender Kelowna, BC 103
Hannah Haughn Forward North Vancouver, BC 98
Kaitlyn Williams Goalkeeper White Rock, BC 70
Karli Johansen Defender North Vancouver, BC 52
Kate Gillis Forward Kingston, ON 139
Madeline Secco Midfielder Victoria, BC 66
Natalie Sourisseau Midfielder Kelowna, BC 82
Sara McManus Defender Tsawwassen, BC 92
Stephanie Norlander Forward North Vancouver, BC 32
Thea Culley Forward Rossland, BC 142

2016 Senior Development Squad
Name Position Hometown Caps

Alex Thicke Midfielder North Vancouver, BC 22
Alison Lee Defender Toronto, ON
Amanda Woodcroft Midfielder Waterloo, ON 35
Beckett Frisch Goalkeeper Calgary, AB 6
Holly Stewart Forward North Vancouver, BC 35
Kathleen Leahy Defender Victoria, BC 18
Rosie Beale Defender Victoria, BC 8
Shanlee Johnston Defender Vancouver, BC 35

2016 Junior Development Squad – Centralized
Name Position Hometown Caps

Alexis de Armond Midfielder Victoria, BC
Hannah Eborall Defender Beamsville, ON
Lauren Logush Goalkeeper Richmond Hill, ON 22
Shannon Pereira Midfielder Scarborough, ON
Margaret Pham Forward Mississauga, ON
Priya Randhawa Forward Surrey, BC 1
Rowan Harris Goalkeeper Ottawa, ON
Thora Rae Forward Vancouver, BC
Nikki Woodcroft Forward Waterloo, ON

2016 Junior Development Squad
Name Province

Abbey Maclellan PEI
Adrienne Houle ON
Alexis de Armond BC
Anna Mollenhauer BC
Ashley Mendonca ON
Brie Ricker BC
Cailean Meredith BC
Cassandra Mascarenhas ON
Dekota Chan BC
Ellie Cookson ON
Emma Wingrave ON
Hannah Eborall ONT
Isabella Fraser BC
Jaslan Stirling ON
Jordyn Faiczak ON
Katarina Angus BC
Kayla Sliz ON
Laura MacLachlan BC
Lauren Logush ON
Lindsay Cole BC
Margaret Pham ON
Nicky Bajus BC
Nicole Godman BC
Nikki Woodcroft ON
Priya Randhawa BC
Rebecca Plouffe ON
Robin Fleming BC
Rowan Harris ON
Samantha Gomes ON
Samantha McIlwrick BC
Sara Goodman BC
Shannon Pereira ON
Thora Rae BC

Story Source: Field Hockey Canada
Photo Source: Yan Huckendubler


There are no comments for this announcement.