Island athletes take top U SPORTS honours

Posted by Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association on Nov 11 2021 at 12:46PM PST in Season 2021-22

Ahead of the 2021 U SPORTS National Championship, two University of Victoria Vikes field hockey players took home national honours. Fourth-year defender Anna Mollenhauer (Lynx FHC) took home U SPORTS Player of the Year honours for the second time in her career, last in 2018, while first-year forward Chloe Langkammer (Cowichan FHC) was named U SPORTS Rookie of the Year. Both were named All-Canadians along side UBC Thunderbirds fifth-year defender Sara Goodman (Cowichan FHC).

In addition, long-time Victoria based umpire Tyler Klenk was named U SPORTS Umpire of the Year.

The U SPORTS National Championship is a best-of-three series between Victoria and the University of Toronto, hosted at Back Campus fields in Toronto, Ont. Games will take place on Nov. 12 (3 p.m. Pacific), Nov. 13 (12 p.m. Pacific) and, if needed, Nov. 14 (11 a.m. Pacific). Games will be streamed live on or the CBC Sports GEM App. The Vikes will be vying for their third-straight U SPORTS National title and 14th banner overall.

LIZ HOFFMAN AWARD (Player of the Year): Anna Mollenhauer
A fourth-year defender, Mollenhauer helped guide the Vikes to an undefeated record in Canada West play in the 2021 season, tallying four goals on the season in addition to helping UVic secure five shutout wins. Adding to her accolades, Mollenhauer was the Canada West Rookie of the Year in 2017, and 2018 Player of the Year, also being named a Canada West All-Star in 2017, 2018, and 2019. In addition, the Victoria, B.C. native was selected as the 2019 U SPORTS national championship MVP and a two-time All-Canadian and Top 8 Academic All-Canadian.

A member of Team Canada Junior Women’s Field Hockey team, Mollenhauer won gold at the 2021 Pan American games, including scoring the winning goal in Canada’s game against Uruguay, prior to starting the U SPORTS season.

JOYCE SLIPP AWARD (Rookie of the Year): Chloe Langkammer, Victoria
Vikes forward/midfield Chloe Langkammer led the offensive effort for Victoria with nine goals on the season en route to an undefeated season and Canada West Rookie of the Year honours.

An eight-game starter for the Vikes in 2021, Langkammer was a consistent presence in the Vikes’ attacking 23, maneuvering her way around defenders tactfully to become a top offensive producer for Victoria. Lankgammer finished the conference season with eight goals as the Vikes out-scored their opponents 32-3 across all eight conference games.

Six of those goals came in the Vikes’ home-opening tournament and all came from field goals The sister of former Vikes U SPORTS national champion and team captain Stefanie Langkammer, Chloe looks to help the Vikes earn their third-straight U SPORTS championship this season.

UMPIRE OF THE YEAR: Tyler Klenk, Canada West
Tyler Klenk, whose hometown is Saskatchewan but has spent most of his hockey career in Victoria, has had a fast-tracked route to now becoming Canada’s highest-ranked international umpire. Klenk’s talents as an umpire stem from him being a high-level player himself, previously competing for the Vikes men’s field hockey team and the Canadian junior national squad. Klenk brings a unique sense of calm to his level of umpiring while he truly is a “players’ official.”

Klenk has given up a lot to pursue his umpiring goals, moving to Vancouver to be a regular official in the Vancouver Men’s Premier League – the top club level hockey in Canada. Klenk will continue to grow his skills in Vancouver working with local leagues at the club and national level, while his contributions to Canada West field hockey have also been important parts of his pathway.

Klenk’s major international appointments included the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast in Australia, the 2019 FIH Series Finals in Paris and the 2019 Pan American Games in Lima.


2021 U SPORTS Field Hockey Major Award Winners
Liz Hoffman Award (Player of the Year): Anna Mollenhauer, University of Victoria
Marina Van Der Merwe Award (Coach of the Year): Jeff Pacheco – Western
Joyce Slipp Award (Rookie of the Year): Chloe Langkammer, University of Victoria
Gail Wilson Award (Student-Athlete Community Service Award): Kira Atkinson – Queen’s
Umpire of the Year: Tyler Klenk, Canada West

2021 U SPORTS Field Hockey All-Canadians
Sidney Evans, University of Guelph
Jordyn Faiczak, University of British Columbia
Arden Goddard-Despot, University of Guelph
Sara Goodman, University of British Columbia
Miranda Hunter , University of Waterloo
Chloe Langkammer, University of Victoria
Payten Lang, Western University
Katie Lynes, University of Toronto
Isabelle Mastantuono, Queen’s University
Anna Mollenhauer, University of Victoria
Melanie Scholz, University of Calgary

Full release:


There are no comments for this announcement.