Kirby's Island Wildcats host Hawks in season opener

Posted by Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association on Sep 17 2013 at 09:53AM PDT in Season 2013-14

VICTORIA – Vancouver Island’s first premier women’s field hockey team will take to the field this weekend for the start of their second season as part of the Vancouver Premier League. Kirby’s Island Wildcats is an island-based team that has a five-year plan to increase the development of the island’s high performance juniors as well as increase participation from the junior league, through the women’s league right through to feeding players to the Canadian University and National team programs.

On Saturday, Sept. 21 the Wildcats will host the Vancouver Hawks in their first premier game at 12:30 p.m. at the University of Victoria water-based turf.

The team, sponsored by Kirby’s Source for Sports, boasts talent from the entire island. Cowichan standouts Chelsey Cleemoff, Stefanie Langkammer and Claire Seeliger were all competitors for BC Under-18 teams this past summer, while Lindsay Cole, Lexi De Armond, Ella Mosky, Kristina Walters-Shumka and Jenna Dhillon were all Victoria representatives on their respective provincial teams.

As far as experience goes, former Canadian national team member Ali Lee joins forces with UVic Vikes alumni Perri Espeseth, Sandy Zinkowski and Cara Jay to provide some leadership and guidance for the young squad. In goal, duties will be shared between Duncan’s Courtney Westwood and Victoria’s Shinai Sorensen.

New additions include Mount Doug High School’s Lindsay Cole, Cowichan’s Kim Smith, former University of Toronto midfielder Lauren Mansfield, as well as Madi Koniuk, from the Rebels Field Hockey Club, and Niki Davis from the Sailors FIeld Hockey Club.

(#, Name, Position, Club)

0 Shinai Sorensen, GK, Lynx
1 Courtney Westwood, GK, Cowichan
2 Lindsay Cole, F, Lynx
3 Chelsey Cleemoff, D, Cowichan
4 Lexi De Armond, M/F, Lynx
5 Ali Lee, M, Sailors
6 Lauren Mansfield, M, Rebels
7, Ella Mosky, D, Lynx
8 Madi Koniuk, F, Rebels
9 Perri Espeseth, D, Sailors
10 Casey Crowley, M, Shawnigan Lake
11 Sandy Zinkowski, M, Rebels
12 Kim Smith, D, Cowichan
13 Niki Davis, F, Sailors
14 Kristina Walters-Shumka, D/M, Lynx
15 Heather Wheatley, D, Rebels
16 Jenna Dhillon, M/F, Lynx
18 Stefanie Langkammer, F, Cowichan
19 Elspeth McGillivray, F, Sailors
20 Claire Seeliger, D, Cowichan
21 Cara Jay, F, Rebels
Kira Graham, F/M, Sailors

Head Coach: Mark Baggott
Manager: Laurie De Armond

For more information visit:


There are no comments for this announcement.