Wheatley named Hibbert Trophy trophy winner, Seeliger wins top junior award

Posted by Ali Baggott on Apr 16 2012 at 09:05PM PDT in Season 2011-12

VICTORIA, B.C. – At the annual Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey general meeting, on Apr. 16, the major award winners, division winners, playoff winners and all-star teams were announced. First division defender and member of the Rebels Patriots team, Heather Wheatley, was named the most outstanding player of the season. From the Cowichan Cardinals, Under-17 national team member Claire Seeliger was named the top junior player. First division captains and executive members Rebecca Courtemarche, of the Patriots and Ali Lee, of the Mariners, were named the Christine Trophy winners for all-around sportsmanship, ability and service to the league.

The Hibbert Trophy – Most Outstanding Player
Awarded to the most outstanding player in the association. Players in any division are eligible for this award. The Hibbert family, of Victoria, donated this trophy. Nita Hibbert played in the association and was the league’s social director.

2011-12 Winner: Heather Wheatley (Patriots)

The Foley Shield – Most Improved Umpire
Awarded to the most improved umpire in the association.

2011-12 Winner: Chris Davis

The Christine Trophy – Ability, Sportsmanship and Service
Awarded to a member of the association who best combines sportsmanship, ability and service to VILFHA. Joy Speight donated the trophy, which was named for after her daughter.

2011-12 Winners: Rebecca Courtemarche (Patriots) & Ali Lee (Mariners)

The Trelawney Shield – Most Outstanding Under 18 Player
Presented to a young player (18 and under) who best combines ability, leadership and sportsmanship. Ruth Trelawney, who was a member of VILFHA and the Canadian national team that competed in Jamaica in 1968, donated this shield.

2011-12 Winner: Claire Seeliger (Cowichan Cardinals)

These awards are given out annually to the most sportsmanship team in each division (1, 2 and 3). Each team votes for a team in their division they felt was the most sportsmanlike.

2011-12 Division 1 Winner: Patriots
2011-12 Division 2 Winner: Blue Jays
2011-12 Division 3 Winner: Lynx 3

These awards are given out annually to the player that is voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in. This player will impact the league through leadership, ability or service to their team.

2011-12 Division 1 MVP: Ali Lee (Mariners)
2011-12 Division 2 MVP: Sandy Grimwood (Blue Jays)
2011-12 Division 3 MVP: Erica Kjekstad (Pirates)

Division 1: Mariners
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Stellers

Division 1: Mariners
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Kestrels

These awards are given out annually to the players that are voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in.

Division 1
1. Heather Wheatley, Patriots
2. Cara Jay, Patriots
3. Jenny Swaile, Patriots
4. Ali Lee, Mariners
5. Perri Espeseth, Mariners
6. Kira Graham, Mariners
7. Annie Walters-Shumka, Lynx 1
8. Elspeth McGillivray, Lynx 1
9. Gillian Kirkpatrick, Lynx 1

Division 2
1. Kelsey Havens, Sailors
2. Alison Fraser, Cardinals
3. Alexis de Armond , Lynx 2
4. Ashley Milburn, Demons
5. Chelsea Cleemof, Swifts
6. Kate Egen, Blue Jays
7. Claire Seeliger, Cardinals
8. Sara Brant, Sailors
9. Kira Starr, Sailors
10. Kristina Walters-Shumka, Lynx 2
11. Sandy Grimwood, Blue Jays

Division 3
1. Theresa Kennedy, Devils
2. Sue Fraser, Stellers
3. Erica Kjekstad, Pirates
4. Dana Dickinson, Ravens
5. Michelle Legassicke, Renegades
6. Britt Ratzburg, Kestrels
7. Ana Adams, Lynx 3
8. Kristie Sykes, Stellers
9. Alice Lam, Devils
10. Lisa Grambart, Pirates
11. Lisa Blair, Ravens


There are no comments for this announcement.