Posted by Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association on Apr 16 2015 at 01:53PM PDT in Season 2014-15

VICTORIA – On April 13 the Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey Association honoured several of its members for annual awards and all-star nods. Mount Douglas Secondary graduate Alexis De Armond, of Lynx 1, and Cowichan High graduate Sara Lowes, of the Flickers, were named the league’s most outstanding Under 18 players. Mariners midfielder Ali Lee was awarded the Hibbert Trophy for the second-straight season as the league’s Most Valuable Player, while the former Vike also picked up the Division 1 MVP nod.

Long-time Rebels Field Hockey Club president Sharon White was awarded the prestigious Christine Trophy for ability, sportsmanship and service to the league, coinciding with her recent announcement of retirement from club duties. Sunny Jun was awarded the Foley Shield for most improved umpire after her success officiating in both the women’s and men’s league this season.

Sailors defender Sara Brant was named the Division 2 MVP, while Theresa Kennedy, of Oak Bay, garnered Division 3 honours for the second-straight year.

Long-time VILFHA executive member Liz Munn was awarded VILFHA Honorary Member status for her commitment, service and dedication over the years. Olympic team mates Nancy Mollenhauer and Shelley Andrews, both still current VILFHA members, were also acknowledged for their upcoming Hall of Fame Inductions. Andrews will be inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame in May 2015, while Mollenhauer is part of Field Hockey Canada’s inaugural induction class, with the induction celebration set for July 2015 concurrently with the Pan American Games.

The league also congratulates the league and playoff team winners including the Mariners, Sailors and Ravens for league titles and Lynx 1, Sailors and Kestrels for the playoff titles.

2014-15 VILFHA Award Winners:

The Hibbert Trophy – Most Outstanding Player
Awarded to the most outstanding player in the association. Players in any division are eligible for this award. The Hibbert family, of Victoria, donated this trophy. Nita Hibbert played in the association and was the league’s social director.

2014-15 Winner: Ali Lee, Mariners

The Foley Shield – Most Improved Umpire
Awarded to the most improved umpire in the association.

2014-15 Winner: Sunny Jun

The Christine Trophy – Ability, Sportsmanship and Service
Awarded to a member of the association who best combines sportsmanship, ability and service to VILFHA. Joy Speight donated the trophy, which was named for after her daughter.

2014-15 Winner: Sharon White

The Trelawney Shield – Most Outstanding Under 18 Player
Presented to a young player (18 and under) who best combines ability, leadership and sportsmanship. Ruth Trelawney, who was a member of VILFHA and the Canadian national team that competed in Jamaica in 1968, donated this shield.

2014-15 Winner: Lexi De Armond (Lynx 1) & Sara Lowes (Flickers)

These awards are given out annually to the most sportsmanship team in each division (1, 2 and 3). Each team votes for a team in their division they felt was the most sportsmanlike.

2014-15 Division 1 Winner: Lynx 1
2014-15 Division 2 Winner: Blue Jays
2014-15 Division 3 Winner: Renegades

These awards are given out annually to the player that is voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in. This player will impact the league through leadership, ability or service to their team.

2014-15 Division 1 MVP: Ali Lee (Mariners)
2014-15 Division 2 MVP: Sara Brant (Sailors)
2014-15 Division 3 MVP: Theresa Kennedy (Devils)

Division 1: Mariners
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Ravens

Division 1: Lynx 1
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Kestrels

These awards are given out annually to the players that are voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in.

Division 1
Lexi De Armond, Lynx 1
Karen Ward, Lynx 1
Ali Lee, Mariners
Kira Graham, Mariners
Emily FIsher, Mariners
Sam Purcell, Mariners,
Madison Koniuk, Patriots
Heather Wheatley, Patriots
Sara Goodman, Flickers
Sara Lowes, Flickers
Robin Fleming, Flickers

Division 2
Anna Mollenhauer, Lynx 2
Jocey Charlton, Lynx 2
Nicole Gaul, Lynx 2
Ashton Aumen, Cardinals
Alyssa Davidson, Cardinals
Jill Roberts, Cardinals
Teresa Wong, Blue Jays
Jaime Sharpe, Blue Jays
Jenna Lucas, Sailors
Sara Brant, Sailors,
Kelsey Havens, Sailors

Division 3
Dana Dickinson, Ravens
Nicole Little, Ravens
Stella Wallner, Stellers
Jill Dayton, STellers
Morgan Battie, Kestrels
Teresa Gregus, Kestrels
Erica Kjekstad, Pirates
Catherine Fracy, Pirates
Jaime Boyle, Lynx 3
Hilary Wickware, Lynx 3
Theresa Kennedy, Demons
Cathy Boraston, Demons
Zena McCreary, Devils
Anita Lam, Devils
Sharon White, Renegades


There are no comments for this announcement.